Elite Bodyweight Training

HomeHome  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Are the muscles "blind"?

Go down 
AuthorMessage
G@lvo

Are the muscles "blind"? Empty
PostSubject: Are the muscles "blind"?   Are the muscles "blind"? EmptyTue Jun 05, 2012 6:21 pm

I have some experience with weights... I always worked out with barbells, and recently I got used to bodyweight exercises.
I had some results with both of them.
Yesterday I trained with a friend of mine, using only resistance bands... I have to say that I NEVER experienced such a good workout in terms of intensity, plus I think it's easier on my joints..
So that fact set a question in my mind.. and the question is: are our muscles blind?
If I had to add muscle mass, is it different if for example I bench 100 kg with barbells, 100 kg with dumbells and 100 kg with resistance bands for the same number of reps?
Tell me what you think guys!
Back to top Go down
Fi

Fi

PostSubject: Re: Are the muscles "blind"?   Are the muscles "blind"? EmptyTue Jun 05, 2012 7:10 pm

Wow, great question!

I always thought (and this is based on nothing but the opinion formed by my own little warped mind!) that the gradual ease into and ease out of the rep that you get from the resistance bands would mean that the shock to the muscle would be lower (and hence also be easier on your joints) but that the downside of that would be that the shock to your muscles, and thus the stimulation to re-build bigger, would be less.

I sort of see it as a curve - with a gradual start and finish like this one for resistance bands and one which is more "square" for heavy weights. (I hope that makes sense!).

Anyhow - just my opinion - definitely interested in what others think about this - it's an interesting question.
Back to top Go down
http://www.bar-barella.com
jimsiff

jimsiff

PostSubject: Re: Are the muscles "blind"?   Are the muscles "blind"? EmptyTue Jun 05, 2012 9:01 pm